Double Chocolate Fridge Cake

Sorry, sorry, sorry. I am aware that I have not posted in a while, but school is pretty hectic at the moment – four tests, essays to write and music exams are all collapsing on top of me while I try to fit baking in as well. Don’t worry, I am still here! Actually, maybe that’s not such a good thing…

IMG_0521</a

This is actually my great-grannie's recipe, and I have not changed a thing as it is a mouthful of sheer heaven. My mum is addicted to this stuff and after I had put it in the fridge to set over night, over a quarter had gone already! If you never bake because you are scared of burning a cake, making it too soggy or dry never fear! This recipe requires zero oven cooking, and only one pan and tin for washing up.

Got an old packet of biscuits that need using up in the cupboard? Perfect. Friends, family, the lot – they'll love this. If you want to make it very good, add a splash of liqueur – I like triple sec or Cointreau because they are orangey. But my great grannie used sherry, but I think anything will do to be honest!

This can be made in a few minutes by almost anyone (although give it time to set) and is crazily addictive and yummy. What is not to like? Chocolate biscuits and chocolate are the fundamental ingredients in this recipe. So sit inside when it's cold and wet and eat your chocolate fridge cake gleefully as you watch people trudge past in their soggy coats.

Double Chocolate Fridge Cake
You need:
450g/1lb digestive biscuits (I use chocolate covered as I am really naughty)
100g/4oz butter
1 tbsp golden syrup
1 tbsp cocoa powder
100g/4oz dark chocolate
100g/4oz milk chocolate
2 tbsp of liqueur (optional)
+ a loose bottomed 8" cake tin or brownie tin

1) Put the biscuits in a ziplock bag and grab a rolling pin. Here is a chance to release your anger! Whack the biscuits until they are crushed (you want a mixture of crumbs and shrapnel). Nigella would probably call it something really annoying like; 'chocolate rubble of heaven'.

2) In a medium pan, melt the butter, golden syrup (liqueur if using) and cocoa powder on a low heat. When melted, turn off the heat and tip in the biscuit rubble. Stir it in nicely and try not to eat too much.

3) In a bowl, melt the chocolate either in the microwave in thirty second blasts, or over a pan of simmering water.

4) Tip the biscuit mixture into your tin of choice and squash down until flat. Pour the river of velvety chocolate (sorry went a bit poetic there) on top and spread to the edges.

5) Chill in the fridge for 3 hours or over night. Once set, remove from the fridge and tin and store in an airtight container (it doesn't need to be in the fridge). I honestly don't think you will be able to resist this fridge cake for very long.

IMG_0523

This recipe is so simple and I can imagine my great grannie using it long ago. I love it when recipes are passed down, especially when they actually taste nice! Give it a go and if you have any problems (though I doubt you will) please ask me. Might just go and have a quick slice of fridge cake now… making me hungry.

2 thoughts on “Double Chocolate Fridge Cake

Leave a Reply

