Shameless Chocolate Nutella Cupcakes

Before I am forced to return to the centre of boredom (school), I thought that I would post my favourite new recipe. Although not a massive fan of cupcakes, I am a MASSIVE fan of Nutella. In my view, anything with nutella is good, and I am not ashamed to eat spoonfuls of it out of the jar. My inspiration for these cakes was the Primrose Bakery Nutella Cupcakes, but they weren’t quite chocolatey enough for me, so here is my version. The icing is not a buttercream, but a sort of truffly, nutellery ganache.

IMG_0596

In my house, I know that these cakes will probably not see tomorrow. Nutella is used abundantly on toast, waffles, cakes, fingers… anything really! For me it is the hint of hazelnut in the creamy milk chocolate, which is so tantalising.

IMG_0599

You are probably now salivating at the thought of nutella or anything vaguely chocolatey, so I will not torture you any longer…

Shameless Chocolate Nutella Cupcakes
Makes 14 cupcakes
You need:
CUPCAKES
175g/6oz butter
90g/3oz granulated sugar
90g/3oz soft light brown sugar
3 eggs
150g/5oz self raising flour (+1/2 tsp baking powder)
2 tbsp cocoa powder
14 teaspoons of nutella

ICING
150g/5oz milk chocolate
45ml/1.5oz double cream
2 tbsp butter
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
200g/7oz nutella

1) Preheat the oven to 180°C/160°C fan. Arrange 14 muffin cases on baking trays (or those tins with holes in them)

2) In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugars together until pale and fluffy. Mix in the eggs one at a time until smooth.

3) Chuck in the flour (and baking powder if using) and cocoa powder. Mix well and then arm yourself with either a table spoon or an ice cream scoop.

4) I find that one scoop equivalent of this mixture is perfect for cupcakes, so dollop one scoop into each case. When you’ve used all the mixture, get your nutella jar, and plonk a teaspoonful of nutella in each cake.

5) Bake in the oven for 20 minutes (a skewer should come out clean). Transfer to a cooling rack.

6) For the icing, melt the milk chocolate (see Tips and Tricks: tempering chocolate). Transfer into a large bowl and cool slightly. Chuck in the other ingredients and beat until thoroughly mixed; the icing should be ready to use, but if too runny, put in the fridge for 10-15 minutes.

7) Smother all your cakes in the icing and then eat with absolutely no guilt whatsoever!

IMG_0592

These cakes are my moment of heaven, and the recipe is so adaptable. If you only want to use one type of sugar, just do 6oz of that sugar… As long as a cake has 4 quarters (butter, sugar, eggs and flour) it should turn out fine. Happy baking!

One thought on “Shameless Chocolate Nutella Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

