Dark chocolate orange macadamia and pistachio tiffins

Oh it is so lovely to get blogging again – at the moment revision is like a massive brick slowly pressing down on my head. But that aside, today is World Baking Day (or so twitter tells me). In the spirit of this, here is a post; however, I am not sure how it qualifies as baking, as no ovens are involved. These are basically posh little nibblets that will impress anyone.

IMG_0769

Rather more sophisticated than rocky road, these are a vague attempt at healthy (well they have fruit, nuts and dark chocolate in them) tiffins. Apparently dark chocolate is full of antioxidants, so get your hands on some really good stuff, green & blacks maybe? They are a doddle to make and are rather yummy though I say it myself.

I have to say that making these was not my finest hour as I put some foil in the microwave, which has basically ruined the microwave (and my lovely chocolate) #oops. Still, the end result was very successful and every time I peek in the fridge another tiffin seems to have mysteriously disappeared.

IMG_0770

Obviously you can change the nuts, take out the sultanas and do whatever you want, but trust me, this combination is divine. I feel that these are so beautiful that they should do the talking and not me! So go and bake them!

Dark chocolate orange macadamia and pistachio tiffins:
Makes 20
You need:
400g/14oz ginger biscuits (or normal biscuits with 2tsp ground ginger), crushed
125g/4oz butter
2 large tbsp golden syrup
zest of 1 orange (or tsp of orange extract)
80g/3oz macadamia nuts, chopped
80g/3oz pistachio nuts, chopped
80g/3oz sultanas
50g/2oz cocoa powder
250g/9oz dark chocolate (or maya gold works well)

1) Line a deep tray with greaseproof paper. In a small pan melt the butter, orange zest and golden syrup then take off the heat.

2) In a large bowl mix the crushed biscuits with the syrup mixture, and stir in all the other ingredients except the dark chocolate. Pour into the tin and squash down. Set in the fridge for about an hour.

3) Melt the chocolate either in the microwave (no foil!) or over a pan of simmering water. Pour over the chilled nut mixture and return to the fridge.

4) When set, remove from the fridge for about 30-60 minutes before cutting into squares (other wise the chocolate sort of shatters). Eat or store in the fridge until they need to be eaten!

I hope you enjoy these and happy world baking day one and all! Please leave any comments or questions and I will happily answer them.

2 thoughts on “Dark chocolate orange macadamia and pistachio tiffins

    • Gosh – thank you! It’s ridiculously simple to make too 🙂 such a fan of your recipes (made your hot cross bun loaf yesterday). Thanks for reading my blog

Leave a Reply

